Real Estate

TV star historic home ready for new owner

Written by The ReReport
As seen in the Source link, written by on 2019-02-04 02:05:34

26 Empire Vista, Ormiston, is open for expressions of interest until February 28.

One of Brisbane’s oldest homes, which packs so much historic punch it starred in its own television episode, is ready for a new owner.

Built when the Queensland capital was farmland not suburbs, it was the home of the creator of some of Brisbane’s earliest suburban subdivisions, John Cameron.

Cameron, who started his auction business when Brisbane was five years old, built the stunning home – called Doobawah which means vast expanse of water in an Aboriginal dialect – in 1884.

Stunning spot for a cup of tea in the morning.

There have been many upgrades to the home over the years.

It features in the first series of Who’s Been Sleeping in My House? – a television show on ABC hosted by Adam Ford.

The home captured the imagination because it was not only one of the oldest in Brisbane but also it was so large it was split into three and relocated to different parts of the city.

The home has many original features in mint condition.

MORE: Is this Australia’s luckiest property?

Aussie castle with hydro plant firing on all cylinders

$1.9m for Brisbane home on tiny block

The main home, now located at 26 Empire Vista, Ormiston, has six bedrooms, four bathrooms, six car spaces and was on a large 1,222sq m block. The building itself was substantial at 900sq m, according to agent Joseph Lordi of Queensland Sotheby’s International Realty Brisbane.

Many modern additions were made but sympathetic to the historic nature of the home.

“It was originally sited on nearly 30 acres of land adjacent to the historic Ormiston House and was one of only a few farming houses on the waterfront. This magnificent residence has hosted many celebrations and in more recent times was chosen for the location for a US TV commercial and was featured in a documentary about heritage homes.”

Two large wings with towers attached to the original house were relocated after Cameron passed away in 1902 – one to a hospital in Spring Hill and the other to a college in Kangaroo Point.